Nuxeo DM is the Nuxeo Platform document management module. It distinguishes collaborative work and content distribution.
The general concept is this: documents are created, edited, possibly approved in workspaces. When finished, they are published in sections. When obsolete, they're unpublished from sections. Actions users can perform on documents are determined by access rights given by spaces managers. To encourage collaborative work and information sharing, Nuxeo DM proposes several collaborative services, such as forums, blogs and websites.
Tabs are available on top the of the page, that give access to different environments.
- The Home tab is where the user can find all the information that concern him: his dashboard to get a quick access to documents, and that he can customize with internal and external gadgets, the summary of his notification subscriptions, see his profile, etc.
- The Document Management tab is the main tab. This is where the majority of user's activity within the DM module will occur since it's where users can work on documents and browse your application domains, workspace, sections, etc.
Administrators have two extra tabs:
- The Admin Center tab, from which they can manage the application.
- The Studio tab,which provides access to Nuxeo Connect and Nuxeo Studio, the online customization and configuration environment.
Collaborative work takes place in workspaces, where users can create and edit documents. Workspaces are designed to make capture, sharing and editing of documents easier using desktop integration features, comments, annotations. In the mean time, documents history and versioning, relations, workflows and alerts enable you to build a coherent and controlled documents structure.
To help users create the workspaces in which they work, you can create workspaces templates and prepare the structure that will be applied to workspaces used in template-based workspaces.
When documents are finished and ready, they are published in sections. Traditionally opened to a wider audience than workspaces, sections are dedicated to content distribution and communication and are designed for content consultation. That is why you won't be able to change documents (edit or move them) in sections : documents published in sections are frozen versions of workspace documents.Publishing is controlled using a workflow, that requires publishing requests to be approved so documents can be seen in sections.
Sections, workspaces and templates are grouped in domains. A domain can be considered as a mini-application in Nuxeo or a root in the application. Typically you can use domains to open the application to two or more very different populations of users. For instance, you can have an "intranet" domain and an "extranet" domain. Domains are can be totally independent or not, depending on the access rights you set on each domain.
Access to documents and the actions allowed are determined by access rights. Some users will then be allowed to only read documents, when others will be able to edit documents or to manage spaces and documents.
The available access rights are:
Actions in workspaces
Actions in sections
Manage the archived versions of a document (view, restore, delete)
Manage access rights
Manage access rights
Delete documents (this permission is included in Write right)
Delete sub-sections (this permission is included in Write right)
Can ask for publishing
Submit documents for publishing (this permission in included in Read right)
Add comments on websites
Moderate comments on websites and blogs if moderation is set to "Beforehand".
Access rights are given on folderish spaces (workspaces, sections, templates, domains, but also folders, blogs, websites etc) and are inherited in the sub-spaces.
On a standard Nuxeo application, members are all granted "read" right at the application's root by default.
Groups of users
To make access rights management easier, you can create groups of users. Instead of giving (or denying) access rights to single users and repeat the same operations several times, you can give several users the same right in one single manipulation by using a group.
Default groups are:
- administrators: users in this group are the administrators of the application. They are in charge of managing the application and can access the Admin Center, edit the vocabularies, manage users and groups, and manage the themes applied in the application.
- members: users in this group are the non-administrator users of the application.
Users must be in one of these 2 default groups to be able to access content.
You can create as many groups as needed.
Page: Document Management concepts
Page: Creating a workspace
Page: Managing a workspace
Page: Working in sections
Page: Deleting a workspace
Page: Editing a workspace
Page: Managing users
Page: Managing access rights
Page: Managing groups