Icon

This documentation relates to an old version of Nuxeo DAM (1.x). You may want to check the documentation for our latest LTS version and Fast Track version.
More information about Nuxeo Release Cycle

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Only administrators can manage users and groups. They can create new users and groups, modify their properties or delete them.

It is also possible to connect Nuxeo DAM to an external directory (LDAP directory for instance). This procedure is explained in the Nuxeo EP Reference Guide.

Administrators can create, edit and delete users and groups.

Icon

When you use an external directory for users and groups, the actions available on users and groups are limited, even to administrators.

Here is the information you will find on this page:

Manage users

User's parameters

Field

Description

Username

Name the user will use to log in.

First Name

First name of the user

Last Name

Last name of the user

Company

Company or organization of the user

Email

Email of the user.
This address is used for alerts.

Password

User's password

Password (Verify)

User's password

Groups for this user

Groups of which the user is a member.
User must be in the "Administrators" or "Members" group, or one of their sub-groups.

Create a user

Only administrators can create new users.

By default, Nuxeo DAM has one user, called Administrator. This user is the administrator. You must use this user to create new users and delegate access rights.

Icon

User must be in the "Administrators" or "Members" group, or one of their sub-groups, to be able to access the application's content.

To create a user:
  1. Click on the Administration link in the page header.
    The administration interface opens and you have 3 tabs.
  2. Click on the Users tab.
  3. Click on the Create a new user link.
  4. Fill in the user creation form.
    Mandatory fields are indicated by a red asterisk.
  5. Click on the Save button.
    You can modify the properties of a newly created user.
    The user can immediately connect to the Nuxeo DAM application using his or her username and password.

Edit a user's properties

Only administrators can modify other users' properties.

Icon

You cannot edit the username, as it is the ID of the user on the application.

When you are using an external directory for users management, the Edit option is not available as you cannot edit the users' properties (because they are managed directly from the directory).

To modify a user's properties:
  1. Click on the Administration link in the page header.
    The administration interface opens and you have 3 tabs.
  2. Click on the Users tab.
  3. Search a user and click on the user's name to open his or her profile.
    Icon

    Type * to search for all users.

    The user's profile is displayed.
  4. Click on the Edit tab.
  5. Modify the fields in the modification form.
  6. Click on the Save button.

Delete a user

Only administrators can delete users.

Icon

Deleting a user is a permanent action.

To delete a user:
  1. Click on the Administration link in the page header.
    The administration interface opens and you have 3 tabs.
  2. Click on the Users tab.
  3. Search for a user and click on the user's name to open his or her card.
    Icon

    Type * to search for all users.

    The user's card is displayed.
  4. Click on the Delete button.
    A window pops up.
  5. Click on the OK button.
    The user is deleted. He or she cannot log in to the Nuxeo DAM application.

Groups of users

To make access rights management easier, you can create groups of users.

Groups of users can be created and their properties modified directly in Nuxeo DAM. Groups of users are used to manage access rights more easily. Instead of giving (or denying) access rights to single users and repeat the same operations several times, you can give several users the same right in one single manipulation by using a group.

There are two default groups in Nuxeo DAM:

  • administrators: the members of this group are administrators of the application. They can manage users, groups, access rights.
  • members: users in this group are the non-administrator users of the application. The members of this group by default have "Read" permission on all the content of the application.

Groups can be composed of users and of sub-groups. Sub-group's members automatically become members of the parent group. Thus, they are granted all the access rights you give to the group.

Users and groups directories are available using the Users and Groups tab, in the administration interface.

Icon

Users must be in one of these 2 default groups to be able to access content.

You can create as many groups as needed.

Groups parameters

Field

Description

Group name

The name of the group is its ID.

Group's members

Users that belong to the group.

Sub-groups

Groups that belong to the group.

Create a group

Only administrators can create groups of users.

To create a group of users:
  1. Click on the Groups tab, in the administration panel.
    A search form and the list of the existing groups is displayed.
  2. Click on the Create a New Group link.
  3. Fill in the creation form.
  4. Click on the Save button.

Edit a group

Only administrators can modify groups.

Modifying groups consists of adding or removing members of the group. The name of the group cannot be changed.

To edit a group:
  1. Click on the Administration link in the page header.
    The administration interface opens and you have 3 tabs.
  2. Click on the Groups tab.
    A search form is displayed.
  3. Search a group and click on its name to open its card.
    Icon

    Type * to search for all groups.

    The card displays the members and sub-groups of the group in the View tab.
  4. Click on the Edit tab.
    The modification form is displayed.
  5. Modify the group's members and click on the Save button.

The new group members are immediately granted the group's access rights. The users who are no longer members of the group are denied group's access rights. However they still have their individual access rights.

Delete a group

Only administrators can delete groups.

To deleted groups
  1. Click on the Groups tab.
    A search form is displayed.
  2. Search the group to delete and click on its name to open its card.
    Icon

    Type * to search for all groups.

    The card displays the members and sub-groups of the group.
  3. Click on the Delete button.
    A window pops up.
  4. Click on the OK button.
    The group search form is displayed. The group is displayed and its members lose the group's access rights.
  • No labels

2 Comments

  1. Anonymous

    It seems that one can use the asterisk as a wildcard when searching for users.  Thus, typing "*" will give a readout of all users.

    1. Indeed. The page's been updated with tips on that wildcard.
      Thanks a lot (smile)