Client Applications

Direct Transfer

Updated: September 11, 2020

The purpose of the Direct Transfer feature is to add a third core capability to Nuxeo Drive: one-time transfer of content between the user desktop and the Nuxeo server.

Direct Transfer allows users having installed Nuxeo Drive to upload new content to the server, as opposed to using the traditional document creation from Nuxeo Web UI. This will be particularly useful in the case of big files.

This is also different from what is done in the core of Nuxeo Drive: transfers are not tight to synchronization roots but everywhere on the server (depending on user access rights).

Nuxeo Drive upload capability provides a productive and network resilient way of transferring the content and leverage chunking capabilities of the platform to send content to the server.

Create a Transfer

  1. Open Nuxeo Drive from your desktop and click on Direct Transfer.
    The Direct Transfer popup opens.
  2. From this popup you can decide to Add files or Add a folder.
    The files selection popup opens.
  3. Select the document(s) you want to transfer and click on Open.
  4. Select the remote folder where you want the document(s) or folders to be uploaded.
    The selected path will update depending on the remote folder selected.
  5. Click on OK to launch the transfer.

Options

Duplicate Management
The Options section is only available on the Beta channel update version.

On this section you need to choose what to do when a transfer would create a duplicate document on the server. The setting is effective for all files that will be sent at the same time (it is called the session). Each session has its own duplicates behavior.

Available options are:

  • Create: this is the default option. A duplicate document will be created, this is the same behavior as when adding a new file from Web UI.
  • Ignore: the transfer will be cancelled, preventing the duplicate creation.
  • Override: the document will be replaced on the server.

Launch a Transfer

Once a transfer is launched, a new popup appears.

From there you have full control on your transfer, you can:

  • pause/resume or cancel any upload.
  • monitor each upload thanks to the progress bar.

Once transfers are done, the popup closes and a desktop notification lets you know that the transfer is complete (works only for files > 25 MiB).

We'd love to hear your thoughts!

All fields required