Nuxeo Platform User Documentation

Managing Permissions

Updated: March 1, 2017 Page Information Edit on GitHub

A permission is a rule to grant access to a user or set of users to a Nuxeo document. User has a view in the dashboard where he can see the documents on which a permission is set. Managing permissions means granting or denying access permissions in a document or folder.

Some permissions are granted automatically, for example when you create a workflow and grant access to a user on a document for the entire workflow or a particular task.

Permissions Overview

Permission Actions in Workspaces Actions in Sections
Read
  • Consult content
  • Comment documents
  • Tag documents
  • Collect content
  • Follow content
  • Consult content
  • Comment documents
  • Tag documents
  • Follow content
Edit
  • Create documents
  • Edit documents
  • Add / remove relations
  • Start a workflow
  • Delete documents
  • + Read actions
  • Create sections
  • Approve/reject pending publications
  • Unpublish documents
  • Delete sub-sections
  • + Read actions
Manage everything
  • Manage permissions
  • Set alerts to other users
  • Apply a preset look on documents
  • Manage deleted documents
  • Define publication targets
  • + Edit actions
  • + Read actions
  • Manage permissions
  • Set alerts to other users
  • Apply a preset look on documents
  • Manage deleted documents
  • + Edit actions
  • + Read actions
Can ask for publishing   Submit documents for publishing

Managing Permissions on Content

Granting Permissions to the Application Users and Groups

To add a permission, at the root of a workspace, a folder or a document, click on the Permission tab New Permission and fill in the popup form.

The new permission is displayed in the Permissions defined locally part of the screen.

Granting Permissions to External Users (Instant Share)

You can share documents and folders with people that don't usually have access to the application, using their email.

In the Permissions Assigned to External Users part of the screen, click New and fill in the popup form. The external person is sent an email notification that contains the link to the document or space. They can access the application only by clicking that link.

Notes:

  • You can only grant a temporary access to external users.
  • External users are not created a user account on the application. They do not have login / password credentials. They can only use the link that is sent to them to access the application.
  • External users have access to the content that was shared with them (either documents or workspaces and their content) and the Search tab.
  • External users do not benefit from the following features: A personal workspace and the Home tab and its features (dashboard, alerts, users / groups search, etc.).

Editing Permissions

To edit a permission click on next to it, from there you can modify the permission and/or the date frame.

Deleting Permissions

To delete a permission click on next to the permission you want to delete, click Ok on the confirmation popup.


21 days ago Solen Guitter Add description for SEO
22 days ago Manon Lumeau Web UI user doc update
22 days ago Manon Lumeau update web ui user doc
History: Created by Manon Lumeau