Studio

HOWTO: Collaborate on a Studio Project

Updated: August 19, 2019

This tutorial explains how two users can work at the same time on a Studio Project. The two users will work on the master branch and in Simple save mode.

Nuxeo University
Watch the related courses on Nuxeo University
Course on Branch Management.

If you are not familiar with the revision control concept, you may want to have a look at the branch management documentation before you start.

Working Collaboratively

First User

The first user wants to change the branding on the master branch.

  1. Go to Branding > Login Page,
  2. Modify the background image of your login page and click on Save. A message will appear at the top-right corner of your page, indicating that your changes are committed and pushed.

Second User

Let's say that the second user wants to create a new document type on the master branch.

  1. Go to Content Model > Document Types,
  2. Create a new document type and click on Save.

In the simple save mode, a pull action is automatically performed each time you refresh your project to let you get the modifications of the other users.

Conflicts

Two users may modify the same file, which generates a conflict. When it happens, a window pops up where users can select the version that they want to keep and complete the merge.

Merge Popup
Merge Popup

Discover More

If you are familiar with the revision control concept, other save modes are available in the Commit Preferences page in Studio:

  • Intermediate mode allows you to stack several changes before sharing them, and define a custom message for the set of changes made.

  • Advanced mode is the ideal mode for a configuration review.

If you are interested in trying other save modes, please contact your sales representative to activate them.

Want to go further? Have a look at How to Work with Maintenance Branches.

We'd love to hear your thoughts!

All fields required